Baking Challenge – European Style: Week 3 – Croatia

So, the third week of the Baking Challenge – European style is here and I decided to become a little more “exotic”. The country for this week will be Croatia.

I have never been there nor anyway near. However, I’ve heard that it is a beautiful country with a lot to offer. Maybe someone reading this, can confirm it? If you’d like to get some more information on Croatia, there is a great blog called “Chasing the Donkey“. It has lots of interesting tipps about travel, culture and food and it’s fun to read!

When researching recipes, I’ve discovered that a lot of traditional baked goods there are close to things eaten in Turkey or Austria, for example. It’s interesting to see how cultures have mixed through the centuries.

Anyways, after a lot of research I’ve finally decided to go with something savoury this time. It’s a filo or puff pastry dough called gibanica. According to web sources it’s usually filled with cream cheese. Which sounds perfect to me! There’s also a sweet version. If I have time, I’ll try to do both, but I’ll start with the savoury snack first…

As usual, please feel free to join in!

Leave a Reply

