Baking Challenge – European Style: Week 2 – Austria

All Eclairs are gone and now it’s time to start with the second round of baked goodies. 🙂

I decided to go with Austria for my second week of the baking challenge. This is actually due to my mother in law who mentioned that she liked Buchteln which reminded me that I used to like them too as a child. When I googled the recipe I found out that this is a traditional Austrian Mehlspeise (it translates as some kind of baked dessert). And here we go… the second challenge of baking European style is – Buchteln.

If you’ve never heard of them or seen one, they could probably compared to sweet buns. They sometimes come with fillings and are usually eaten with vanilla sauce or some kind of fruit compote. Here’s a recipe I found on the Austrian food site ichkoche.at (it’s all in German – here’s a English recipe).

I haven’t decided which recipe I’m going to use yet. But it’d be fun if you join in and let me see with what you come up!

Leave a Reply

