Some Nostalgia

Aaah! The good old times… I’m not so old myself, however lately I feel like I’m getting to this stage in life where you look at certain things and say: “Remember, when this and that used to be …”. It makes you feel old. And it makes you think – at least in my case.

Just a couple of days ago when walking to work I noticed an old phone booth. I probably passed this thing about a hundred times already, but this was the first time I’d really noticed it. It’s an old yellow phone booth (they are yellow in Germany – at least they used to be). It sat there all run down, wrecked, robbed of its phone – a sad, broken and empty shell of what it once used to be, all forgotten. And somehow  this made me sad.

Abandoned phone booth

Abandoned phone booth

It made me think back. I’ve already been around when this phone booth was THE form of communication when you were out and about. This was a time before mobile phones. And I can still remember that. And I can still remember hunting for change to use the phone and not having any when I desperately needed to make a call. I’d probably be thrilled to know that in the future not too far away I could always make a call from wherever I happened to be without searching for a booth or change.

Progress has its pros and cons. I cherish my mobile phone and the ability to call whomever, whenever, wherever. It’s great that things change and get better or improve our lives. But I also dislike the constant availability. The expectation to respond immediately and the urge to be “on top” of everything, everywhere, all the time. And I hate that it makes me feel old. Because I can remember times when things were different.

Leave a Reply

